GA Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Georgia traffic ticket fines vary by violation and by court. Your ticket should have the fine printed on it; if it doesn't, contact your court.
We can help you find a lost citation, too.
Court Costs and Other Surcharges
Similar to traffic ticket fines, court costs vary by court. Check your ticket for this information or contact your court.
There are two kinds of DUI costs you'll pay.
The first are your DUI fines, which depend on the court. Your judge will tell you how much you owe; still, if you're convicted of operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or higher, expect to pay somewhere between the following numbers:
- First Offense: $300 up to $1,000.
- Second Offense: $600 tup o $1,000.
- Third Offense: $1,000up to $5,000.
The second group of fines are your DUI reinstatement fees (i.e., the fees you must pay after license suspension). These are the same throughout the state but are based on driver age and offense number. These reinstatement fees range between $210-$410. Learn more over at Georgia's Driver's License Suspensions and Revocations.
Keep in mind, these fines aren't the end; DUI convictions also carry penalties like probation, imprisonment, community service, and Risk Reduction courses.
Super Speeder Fines
If you're convicted of a Super Speeder violation (75 MPH or more on a road of 2 lanes, or 85 MPH or more on any road or state highway), you must pay the $200 Super Speeder fine.
Understand that the Super Speeder fine is a fine all unto itself; in other words, you must pay it in addition to all other applicable traffic ticket fines and court costs. You have 120 days from the notice date to pay it, and if you don't pay on time you face license suspension and a $50 reinstatement fee.
Learn more about the Super Speeder law in Chapter Five of the Georgia Driver's Manual.
Risk Reduction Course Costs
Usually, drivers convicted of DUI-related charges must enroll in a DUI, Alcohol, or Drug Use Risk Reduction Course. This course costs $360, and includes three components:
- Assessment Component: $100.
- Intervention Component: $235.
- Required Workbook: $25.
Suspension and Revocation Reinstatement Fees
Losing your driving privileges to suspension or revocation due to committing certain traffic violations or accumulating too many points (see below) means you'll have to pay a reinstatement fee, too. These fees vary, but the DDS will notify you of your exact cost.
Learn more about Reinstatement Payment Options.
When you get a GA traffic ticket, you can either plead guilty or nolo contendere and pay your fine, or you can contest the ticket and fight the charges in court.
(Plead Guilty or Nolo Contendere)
- Pay the fine.
- Accumulate driving record points (if applicable).
- Possibly experience higher auto insurance rates.
- Possibly attend court-ordered safety and education courses.
- Voluntarily attend driving course to offset points and get an auto insurance discount.
Learn more about
Paying your Traffic Ticket »
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contest the ticket during a hearing.
- Work with a traffic ticket lawyer or represent yourself.
- Face no penalties if found not guilty.
- Appeal the guilty verdict (if applicable).
Learn more about
Fight your Traffic Ticket »
Auto insurance Rate Increase
Many drivers experience increased auto insurance rates if they plead guilty to or are found guilty of a traffic violation. Some drivers can use defensive driving courses to get auto insurance discounts; others have better luck comparing insurance rates online to find more affordable policies.
Georgia Traffic Ticket Penalties
Unlike traffic ticket fines and some surcharges, penalties are the same throughout the state.
GA Driver's License Suspension, Revocation, and Cancellation
You can lose your license in a number of ways. Georgia will suspend, revoke, or cancel a driver's license for certain traffic offenses, failing to meet requirements, and even accumulating too many driving record points.
License Suspension: A suspension is a temporary loss of your driving privilege that usually involves meeting certain requirements set forth by the DDS or court. Once you meet those requirements, and the suspension period is up, you can apply for license reinstatement.
License Revocation: Revocations are also temporary losses of driving privileges; however, revocation periods generally last much longer and require more involved reinstatement requirements. Usually, revocations are reserved for more serious violations than are suspensions.
License Cancellation: The DDS can cancel a driver's license if the person is deemed “ineligible" or failed to provide information, or correct information, during the application process. Although cancellations sound permanent, drivers can reapply for their licenses once they correct the problem that led to the cancellation.
Chapter 10 of the Georgia Driver's Manual outlines in detail all the reasons the DDS can suspend, revoke, or cancel a person's license; below are a few examples.
- Using a vehicle to cause serious injury.
- Homicide by vehicle.
- Committing any felony with which a vehicle is involved.
- Hit and run.
- Fleeing the scene of an accident.
- Violating the Georgia Controlled Substance Act.
Revocations follow if:
- You get a 3 conviction of a suspendable offense within 5 years.
- You refuse to let the DDS reexamine your driving skills upon request.
- There's evidence you're incompetent or unfit to drive do to drug or alcohol addiction or mental or physical health problems.
Suspensions related to point accumulation apply to drivers of all ages.
If you are:
- Younger than 18 years old, your license is suspended after 4 points within 12 months.
- Drivers under 21 years old, your license is suspended for committing any violation worth 4 points.
- 21 years old or older, your license is suspended for accumulating 15 points in 24 months.
Refer to the GA Point System for more information.
Penalties for Drivers Younger than 21 Years Old
Drivers younger than 21 years old have a couple sets of concerns.
First, they must be careful not to drink and drive. If a driver 21 years old is caught driving with a BAC under 0.08%, he'll lose his license for 6 months; 12 months if the BAC was 0.08% or higher.
A 2nd conviction brings a suspension of 18 months Depending on the circumstances of the DUI, the age of the driver and the BAC, the driver must have a certified ignition interlock system installed in his vehicle in order to regain his driving privileges.
Second, they face license suspension for committing any violation of 4 points. These include:
- Reckless driving.
- Aggressive driving.
- Hit and run.
- Fleeing or eluding an officer.
- Driving 24 MPH or more over the speed limit.
For violations of 4 points or morethe license will be suspended.
Note that those are just traffic offenses. The DDS will suspend a young driver's license for a variety of other reasons unrelated to traffic tickets. Learn more about drivers younger than 21 years old in Chapters Six and Ten of the Georgia Driver's Manual.
Penalties for Georgia Commercial Drivers
All GA CDL holders must inform their employers within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic citation, regardless of the vehicles they were driving at the time of the violation.
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) mandates the following commercial driver penalties.
If convicted of any of the following offenses, you'll lose your CDL for 1 year:
- Operating any vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or higher.
- Operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%.
- Refusing a sobriety test.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Commission of a felony with the vehicle.
- Driving a CMV with a suspended, revoked, or canceled CDL.
- Causing a fatality through negligent driving.
These violations include:
- Speeding 15 MPH over the limit.
- Driving recklessly.
- Improperly changing lanes.
- Driving too closely behind another vehicle.
- Driving a CMV without holding a CDL.
- Driving a CMV without having your CDL in your possession.
- Driving a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement.
- Violating a state law of texting while driving.
If you receive a 2nd conviction of any of these violations, you'll lose your driving privileges for 60 days within 3 years. A 3rd conviction takes your privileges away for 120 days.
CDL drivers convicted of either of the following can lose their CDLs for 180 days to 3 years:
- A driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting nonhazardous materials.
- A driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting hazardous materials required to be placarded, or while driving a vehicle designed to transport 16 passengers or more.
Refer to the FMCSA and the Georgia Commercial Driver's Manual for more detailed information.